Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Hey everyone,

So, I got to go to Supanova yesterday!  😀

Supanova is a convention, a bit like Comic Con, in case you didn’t know.  😉

I had loads of fun there, and I also had a pretty decent amount of money saved up to spend, and for my first ever fangirl post, I thought I’d share what I got:

MY SUPANOVA HAUL

IMG_2023 IMG_2024

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Purchase One: Handmade Doctor Who Prints

Where From: Nekochii

Price: $8 each

Why: Doctor Who is one of my top fandoms, probably second only to Once Upon A Time. Seeing as it’s such a popular show, there was loads of merchandise there for the fandom. Unfortunately, a lot of it is usually just the TARDIS, because that’s what everyone assumes Doctor Who is. I was really pleased that this stall had some other Doctor Who merch too.

I also have an ink print off these guys from Popcon, which is a smaller monthly convention I went to at the start of the year. I got a Hufflepuff crest print (being a Hufflepuff and all) which I was really pleased with, so of course when I saw the stall at Supanova, I had to get these two prints. I got the Tenth Doctor because he’s my fave Doctor of all time and the TARDIS, which was really pretty.

My Hufflepuff Print:

IMG_2066.JPG

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

I’m really happy with these prints, but I know that my Hufflepuff print has started peeling, so I may have to touch up some of the glue in future.

Overall Price: $16

~~

IMG_2029

Purchase Two: Donna Noble Bookmark

Where from: Not sure, but it was somewhere in the ‘Artist’s Alley’ at Supanova

Price: $2.50

Why: Donna has to be one of my all-time favourite Doctor Who companions. Alongside this bookmark, they also had the Tenth Doctor, Rose Tyler, Martha Jones, The Master, Captain Jack, the Eleventh Doctor and Amy Pond. I was really tempted to get Rose Tyler too, as she’s also a favourite of mine, but decided to save my money for other things.

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

Though this bookmark is cool, I can’t say the style of the drawing isn’t one that made me instantly want one, I will definitely find use for it though, if not for marking where I’m up to in my books, as a decoration on my wall.  😉

Overall Price: $2.50

~~

IMG_2019 IMG_2020

 

Purchase Four: Emma Swan and Captain Hook Pop!Vinyl Figures

Where From: Popcultcha

Price: $18 each

Why: Is there any reason why not? These two are my OTP, not to mention some of the only OUAT (Once Upon A Time) merch that was there. The only other OUAT Pop!Vinyl’s there were Rumple (scary), Regina (who, for some reason, was all purple – skin, dress and all) and Snow (never was a huge Snowing fan). So, the Captain Swan pair it was!

Here’s a picture of them out of the box:

IMG_2054

And here’s Emma and Hook meeting the Tenth Doctor and Rose Tyler:

IMG_2053

*heart melts at sight of my top two ships*

Hem! Right. Sorry. Back to the review:

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

I was ecstatic when I found these Pop!Vinyl’s and instantly knew I’d be getting them. Emma is a little unbalanced on her feet, but she does come with a support stand like my Rose Tyler one did, which I only just found in the packaging. That would have made taking the photos a little easier!  😛

Overall Price: $32

~~

IMG_2027

Purchase Five: Doctor Who Audio Books – ‘The Night of the Whisper’ and ‘Death’s Deal’

Where From: Doctor Who Club of Australia

Price: $18 each

Why: This group were also selling audio books when I was at Popcon and I was interested in what they had. A lot of their stuff was the earlier Doctors, before the new series started, which I haven’t watched yet. However, they did have an audio book for the Ninth, Tenth and Eleventh Doctor’s in honour of the 50th Anniversary a few years ago. I didn’t get the Eleventh Doctor’s because I haven’t seen all of Matt Smith’s seasons yet, and I want to be able to fully appreciate all the books and audio books of the Eleventh Doctor properly.

Another cool thing about these audio books is they’re read by the actors. ‘The Night of the Whisper’ is read by Nicholas Briggs (voice of the Daleks, Cybermen and countless other monsters from Doctor Who) and John Schwab, and the man at the store said that the way it’s read you could swear it’s Christopher Eccleston (the Ninth Doctor) speaking. ‘Death’s Due’ is read by Catherine Tate, who plays Donna, so that was an instant yes on buying it.

Overall Price: $32

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

I’m yet to listen to these, so I may do a proper review on them once I have, but I am really impressed so far from what I’ve read on the back of the CD cases. I can’t wait to listen to them!  😀

~~

IMG_2021

Purchase Six: ‘Shadows of the Realm’ trilogy, Book One, ‘The Circle of Talia’ by Dionne Lister

Where From: Dionne Lister

Her website is a WordPress site. Go Dionne! WordPress rocks!  😛

Price: $18

Why: The author of this book, Dionne Lister, was actually at the convention and signing the copies your brought. She explained the storyline of this Fantasy trilogy to me and it sounded really interesting. I thought $18 was a pretty good price for a signed copy, so I bought it.  🙂

Here’s what she wrote inside:

IMG_2055

‘Life is better with dragons’

Overall Price: $18

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

Like the audio books, I haven’t read this book yet, so I may do a proper review once I have. It’s a 343 page book, which is a pretty decent size for $18, and like I said, is signed!  😀 I didn’t give this five stars straight up because unlike the audio books, I haven’t read anything from this trilogy yet. I did start the first few pages yesterday at the convention, and found it was written beautifully. I can’t wait to read more!  😉

~~

FullSizeRender (1) IMG_2058

Purchase Seven: Phoenix Tears Necklace

Price: $18

Where From: Nekochii

Why: We passed the Nekochii store again later in the day and I noticed a stand of Harry Potter potions tucked away where I couldn’t see earlier. I actually bought a Felix Felicis (Liquid Luck) necklace when I was at Popcon, so when I saw them on sale again at Supanova, I freaked out and had to buy another one (I may be starting a collection here). Out of all the different types, I chose Phoenix Tears, which is clear with red at the top and little gold sparkles though it.

In case anyone’s curious, this is what my Felix Felicis looks like:

IMG_2059It’s also a clear potion, filled with bubbles and gold flecks.

I put the scroll up on my wall alongside my other one:

FullSizeRender (3)

Overall Price: $18

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

The Harry potter potions are really cleverly made. I love the little finishing  touches that are put into them. They’re not heavy to wear, are on a a comfortable length silver chain, and come free with the bag and scroll. I’ve had no problems with the lids coming off and will definitely be buying another one if I ever come across the stall again.

~~

IMG_2063

Purchase Eight: Inside the TARDIS Artwork

Where From: Redbubble

Price: $5

Why: After hours of shopping I thought I had run out of money. Then, when I was rummaging around in my bag, I was surprised to find a whole extra $5 note inside! We went back to the Artist’s Alley and I got this lovely artwork. It’s the interior inside the Ninth/Tenth Doctor’s version of the TARDIS. The stall owner’s were really friendly and even threw in some free stickers of the Tenth Doctor and Captain Jack:

IMG_2065

Overall Price: $5

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟 🌟

The artwork’s really beautiful and the stickers are super cute. It’s another couple of things that will be going up on my wall.  😉

~~

IMG_2031

Purchase Nine: My Little Pony Bookmarks

Where From: Not sure, I didn’t get a card for this stall

Price: 25c each

Why: Once again, I found a little extra money in the bottom of my bag (I think it all fell out of my purse at one stage; it didn’t always zip up properly), and remembered seeing these on sale in the Artist’s Alley. I was going through them, picking out ones I thought I could give away to some of my younger relatives and family friends for Birthdays or Christmas, when I stumbled across a Doctor Who themed My Little Pony (last one on the right). Needless to say, I’ll be keeping that one!  😛

Overall Price: $1 (the deal was $1 for 4, so I assume they were about 25c each)

Rating: 🌟 🌟 🌟

The Doctor Pony is really cute, and I have some relatives that will probably get good use out of the other three.

~~

Overall Total: $124.50

Considering I walked in with about $136.90 and came out with $2.40 (5c found on an empty table, $2 found later when I got home, again in the bottom of my bag), I’m pretty happy with the outcome of my day.

(And no, I haven’t added it up wrong. $5 went towards lunch, in case you were wondering.)  😛

So? Did you like my first fangirl post? Do you like what I got? What was your favourite purchase? Let me know in the comments. I’d love to hear from you.  🙂

Thanks for reading,

 – Rose  ❤

 

