Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

After missing our deadline by a couple of days (sorry guys) and Raven and Dal staying up to 3am in the morning whilst I edited before posting, our co-story is finally done!

*parties*

YEEEEAAAAAAH!  😛

Yep, you read that right. As the title hints, Dal hasn’t been inactive from her blog all this time for no reason. She’s been patiently waiting until the story was done so that it would fit in with her timeline. She and Raven have been incredible, with so many ideas that have made this story this amazing. They’ve stayed up until midnight most nights we’ve worked on it, which astounds me – how do they write such amazing stuff at 12am?!  😛

A few things you should know before you read the story:

  1. It’s 36 pages long. Yeah, 36! So to make it a little less overwhelming, I’ve split it into two parts in the Forgotten Tales section of my blog.
  2. It is a lot darker the other stories in the Forgotten Tales. This story is set close to the closing of PH, so a lot of things needed to be explained so that the next part of the Lost Stories makes sense (when the Lost Writers and I finally get around to releasing it – it’s a big task, and it probably still won’t be for a while).
  3. It’s not the last story Raven and I will be writing. Just because it’s set right before the Lost Stories doesn’t mean we’re not going to go back and write about all the adventures these two have had in the future. We have dozens of unfinished stories sitting in our draft folders, and we can only focus on one at a time.
  4. It may not be the last you hear from Dal in the Forgotten Tales, either. Dal is an AMAZING writing and I’ve thoroughly enjoyed working with her over the past two months, so who knows, she may pop up in future stories.  😉

If you’re at all confused at where this is set in concession to all the other Forgotten Tales, you can check out the Timeline page to find out what order all my stories are in and where this one fits.

Well, I think I’ve rambled on for long enough. Without further ado, I present Diary Dilemma.

Prologue – Rose’s Reflection

A few years ago, I met a Garden fairy named Raven. Crazy, boisterous, and deadly smart. She’s helped out of some tight corners. About four months ago, I asked her if she’d like a place in the Pixie Elite Force, the secret organisation I run, as a member of the Disguise team. Luckily for me, she accepted. Raven’s probably one of the best friends I have. There’s no secrets between us. I’m really glad to know that she’s one of those friends I can always rely on. She’ll alway have my back, and I’ll always have hers.

~~

Diary Dilemma

By Rose MorningMist, Dalila Pineforest and Raven Mistycloud

Dalila’s Whisper Message to the Pixie Elite Force

July 1, Late Morning

This is Dalila. I don’t know when this message will reach the PEF, but there’s something you must know. I’m currently in-

-and I don’t know when I’ll be back. It’s really dangerous. The-

-is everywhere. Don’t trust them. I hope to return soon but – they’ve found us. Jingles.

Don’t trust them, don’t trust the-

~~

Dal’s Diary

June 18, Breakfast

Hello, diary.

I’m signing my Summons right now, while I’m in the Tearoom. I’m hoping to drop it off at the Pixie Postings stand soon, so it can be accepted and approved before noon today. If I do get it sent in in time, I can be ready and on my way to the Mainland tomorrow!

I’m hoping to be all packed and ready before bed tonight. If I don’t turn it in today, or it doesn’t get accepted, I’ll be shipped out on one of the late pixie dust carriers.

Anyway, I’m going to see Ginger and Buttercup later to say goodbye. Since they’re art and tinker-talents, they can’t come to the Mainland with me. I wish they could, but the Never Council sa-

~~

Dalila’s POV

June 18, Early Morning

I stop writing abruptly because a short, brunette fairy has just spilled her bowl of soup on me.

“W-what was that?” I splutter angrily, staring at the orange stain that’s spreading on my favourite sweater.

“Oh, oh, my! I’m so sorry!” The other pixie says, trying in vain to wipe the stain off the tablecloth with her napkin. Quickly, I pull my bag away, trying to prevent what I think is pumpkin soup from dripping on it. Thankfully, my diary is no worse for wear.

“It’s fine,” I say, calming down a bit. “I can wash it off.”

I grab my bag with one hand, and begin pulling my sweater off with the other, all while walking towards the Tearoom’s public bathrooms.

~~

Raven’s POV

June 18, Early Morning

I sit on my own blue stone and watch as the pixies on stones violet, orange, and red all take turns to duel.

Truth be told, I’m nervous. Rose and I have fought before, but not with magic, and one of us is usually not expecting it.

And, to increase my anxiety, most of the pixies here are good. Like, really good. I don’t have any practice!

I wipe my palms on my jeans and try to reassure myself. You’re good. You’re great. You’re a garden-talent, for Neverland’s sake. You can do this. Now stop whimpering, you insipid little…

Hey! Who gave my internal monologue permission to insult?

Shaking my head, I try to focus on the duel playing out in front of me. One of the fairies just summoned a giant branch, and started chasing her duelling partner around the arena with it. Is that even allowed?

~~

Rose’s POV

June 18, Early Morning

“Next up – Blue stones!”

I stand up on the blue stone I was just sitting on and face my opponent.

Today’s duelling practice for all Pixie Elite Force members. We do it once a month, to keep our skills sharp. All the PEF members sit in a circle on coloured stones. For every coloured stone, there’s another of the exact same colour. Rachel, who’s the acting Head of Spells and Magic, calls out colours from a list. The two fairies that are sitting on that colour stand on the stone, take the oath and then duel.

My opponent today is Raven. It’s her first duel, and I can tell she’s slightly nervous. She narrows her eyes at me from across the lawn.

Bring it, she mouths. I suppress a laugh. I suppose her competitiveness rules out any fear.

Rachel lands in the middle of the duelling circle. “Because this is your first time Raven, I’ll explain the oath to you. This oath you are about to take means you are willing to abide by our rules for duelling. We don’t want anyone to get unnecessarily hurt. Are you ready?”

Raven nods.

“The rules are simple – you may use any kind of magic you wish to duel, so long as it’s not illegal, of course. There is to be no deliberate injuring, maiming or mangling in this duel. The duel is won when one fairy is on the ground for longer than five seconds or one surrenders. If the fight exceeds five minutes, then it is considered a draw. Do you understand and swear to abide by these rules?”

Rachel told me she based the rules on a Clumsy sport called boxing. I don’t see how boxes could be used in a sport. As far as I can see, they’d only get in the way.

“Yeah, yeah.” Raven flips her ponytail and places her hands on her hips.

Rachel nods. “Rose?”

“Yes, I swear.” I tell her.

Rachel smiles. “Very well. You can enter the arena.”

The other members chatter excitedly as Raven and I join Rachel in the arena. Rachel clicks her fingers, and a shield falls over the circle, like a dome, blocking out the noise.

“Scared, Potter?” Says Raven, quoting an old Clumsy movie we once watched after we found the first book in the series washed up on shore.

“You wish!” I shoot back, completing the reference.

Rachel rolls her eyes and steps back to the edge of the circle. “Ready?”

Both of us nod, eyes locked on each other.

“You may begin.”

~~

Dalila’s POV

June 18, Early Morning

After a few minutes of scrubbing, I decide that my sweater is a lost cause.

I stare at myself in the mirror for a few seconds.

“Well, I suppose the first thing I should do is get a new sweater.” I say, talking to myself. “And then I’ll turn in my Summons, and then I can go to the Mainland, and forget all about this.”

I push a few stray curls back behind my headband and stride out of the bathroom, confident and determined.

Twenty minutes later, I walk out of Summit Style, my brand new sweater in my hand.

Sitting on a branch, I pull it over my head and then search through my bag. I want to finish up my diary entry and make absolutely sure no soup got onto it.

However, I only feel my pen, my Summons, and some miscellaneous junk. My fingers don’t make contact with the rough cover of my diary.

Frantically, I begin pulling things out of my bag. I find a box of cottonpuffs, a bottle of shampoo, and an empty envelope, but no diary.

“Oh, no!” I say, jumping up. “I must have lost it! But where?”

~~

Rose’s POV

June 18, Early Morning

I haven’t duelled against a garden fairy in a long time, so I try to recollect the best strategy. Water and Garden Talents haven’t got many weaknesses when tested against each other, so neither of us really have the upperwing in this fight. I also haven’t seen Raven use her talent that much, other than to tend to her garden or fix up her petal skirts when they start to dry out.

Raven cracks her knuckles, then clicks her fingers. The ground shakes, long vines growing at my feet, attempting to spiral around them. I take flight, moving out of harm’s way, but the vines rise upwards, trying to grab at my ankles.

Thinking quick, I circle the inside of the duelling circle darting to avoid getting tangled in the vines. Suddenly, they jerk to a stop. All my crazy flying has tied them into a knot. I blink.

“Well, that went better than I expected,” I mutter.

Raven sighs, clicking her fingers again. The vines retreat back into the ground.

Fine,” She says. “Your turn.”

I grin, waving my hand. Rain begins to fall within the circle, soaking Raven’s wings.

“Hey, that’s not… Well, I guess it is.” She throws a pinch of dust over herself, and a transparent shield appears, blocking out the storm.

I twirl my hand in a spiral, creating a hurricane effect. Raven’s shield flickers and dims.

The ground rumbles again. More vines – I must ask Raven later why she likes these plants so much. I ready myself to dodge them again, when I notice something different.

These vines have thorns. Big, sharp looking ones.

Since when do vines have thorns?

I disperse the storm so I can concentrate on the vines. Unfortunately, that means Raven can focus on them too. I try to tangle the vines like before, but these ones don’t follow me. They just sit there, coiling.

Waiting.

“Raven,” I say cautiously. When she doesn’t respond, I turn to look at her.

Her hair is windswept from the storm, her brand new outfit soaked and torn. There’s a wild look in her eyes.

A wild look I could have sworn I’d seen before…

Suddenly, something sharp grabs my angle. I turn to see the vines twisting around my leg, and I wince in pain.

The vines throw me to the ground, and I land with a thud.

“One,” Begins Rachel. “Two, three…”

I attempt to get to my feet, but a small tug from the vines causes me to fall flat on my face again.

“Four, five.”

The shield around the circle disperses. All the members are silent. Then there’s an outburst of applause. Rachel points to Raven.

“And we have our winner!” She cries.

Raven blinks, and straightens. The vines holding my feet loosen, then retreat back into the ground.

I get to my feet.

“Not too shabby!” I tell her, grinning.

“Are you kidding?” Says Rachel, looking incredulous. “You’re the first person to ever beat Rose, well, apart from Ruby.”

“Well, I’ve been told I’m outstanding before, but you really do flatter me.”

Rachel laughs. “Come on, I’ve been told that there’s a morning tea being held in the planning room.”

“Yeah, Izzy helped me cook the food,” I say, brushing dirt off my pants. “Though first I should probably change my clothes and get that,” I indicate the small puncture marks on my leg, “Looked at.”

“Yeah, me too. You really did a number on my outfit.”

I roll my eyes. “It’ll dry,” I say. “Come on, let’s go eat!”

~~

To continue reading, click here.

To visit Dal’s blog, click here.

To visit Raven’s blog, click here.

Happy reading!

 – Rose MorningMist  ❤

